Kemetic Suns

decans-1.jpg

Apparently, Fundamentals were a short lived Bay Area group and members of the crew Kemetic Sons. They probably smoked blunts with The Grouch! Making mostly underground cassettes, their 2 members (KarmaChi and King Koncepts), went on to do other projects including the respected Konceptual Dominance (Kirby Dominant & King Koncepts). I enjoy this track. I think its on par with other underground West Coast psychadelic ventures on wax of the same era. I found it in the trash this weekend in The Mission. Big up to Oakland and Pudgy Weston.

FUNDAMENTALS- Love… (Kemetic Suns Records, 1998)

Produced by King Koncepts

47 Comments

  1. Posted January 14, 2008 at 1:51 am | Permalink

    classic. it’s a shame king koncepts is no longer about shit.

  2. The Publics
    Posted January 14, 2008 at 10:17 am | Permalink

    Hype like heroin.

  3. Posted January 14, 2008 at 5:52 pm | Permalink

    In the trash no less! I like this record

  4. Posted January 14, 2008 at 8:44 pm | Permalink

    Silly bears. What a sad assumption to think Koncepts would ever be in a state of existence that qualifies as “not about shit”. You cats gonna fuck around and force us to release another FundaMentals album that probably won’t be appreciated until we’re sick of rap again and would rather spend time fighting poverty.

    PS: When I was 18, Grouch was 16 and afraid to smoke weed.

  5. Posted January 16, 2008 at 11:54 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for the background.

  6. unique
    Posted March 16, 2008 at 3:01 am | Permalink

    karma karma,,what a loser personality you have. he never made music just rode the backs of better rappers in his crew. john sklute would never talk to bret sweett cheeks. i heard your working as gata /nonprofit bitch.

  7. Karma
    Posted October 20, 2008 at 5:38 am | Permalink

    Well Unique,

    Its been a long couple of months since we last talked. I wanted to bring that same lovely energy you enjoyed last time. I wanted to help your argument a bit except…

    “Facts are stubborn things”
    -John Adams

    I wanted to take each of your eloquent and hiding some where statement so that I could really make you think before you talk like this anymore. Line by line. I’m sure you remember that.

    1. My response to my personality is simply to tell you to go fuck yourself with some shoe paint
    2. I made three albums as Fundamental with Koncepts, started Kemetic Suns, paid for albums to be recorded/released, developed 100% of projects with exception of Kirby’s releases and contributed to the music through all of the five albums that were released. Therefore it is erroneous to say I never made music. Secondly, if I was riding off the backs, wouldn’t I put my stuff out first and make my friends sell it for me?
    3. Was in NY last week as best man at my man John Sklute’s wedding. Looked around. Didn’t see you there. Strange how no one missed you. Not really.
    4. The name is Sweet. Get it correct.
    5. I start non-profits for sport. You act like working in your immediate environment and ensuring your community has a future is some thing to be looked down at. The really funny thing that I know is going to hurt: no matter what you say, I by myself, without help from anyone else, make more money than you…profit or non. But I have to let you know I’ve left that sport. I manage those athletes now and unfortunately for you I’ll be getting my MBA in May.
    6. If I’m a bitch, what does that make you
    7. If you are going say something to me, don’t do it on the computer, on a message board, using a name you think has some sway in my heart.

    Do remember, I know where you be at. We can bring up this discussion there unless you want to do the “i don’t see you” face again.

    Street Team
    Kemetic Suns
    Good Records
    Rapitalism
    Dualism Consulting
    for life…

    get your shit together asshole….how you gonna be 32 acting like you 17?

  8. Prince
    Posted October 22, 2008 at 8:50 pm | Permalink

    Non-profits are some of the most respected and underappreciated businesses. Don’t waste your words Karma…. Save ’em for the next album release. I hope Unique can understand the vocabulary that you’ll be using, though.

  9. Posted December 4, 2008 at 5:18 am | Permalink

    I’ve dug Kemetic Suns since 98′. But I especially dug the Fundamentals. Maybe you guys will do something in the future…If the stars align right who knows. Until then…
    Best wishes!

  10. Posted February 26, 2009 at 2:15 pm | Permalink

    the days of working at mills and cleaning up after you are over! mr. man you are really dumb,,you messed up a good thing,i was a good girlfreind to you,thats your problem your mixing me up with your,,stupid rapper freinds. wtf brett! period point blank,,if it wasnt for your dad paying our rent!! we would of never made it,, face it you werent a good rapper,,your mom payed for everything!!!you couldnt satisfy me, you were a horrible lover!im sorry i had to tell you this way but,,remember the last thing we said to each other,,you broke your promise. i tried to tell you about your freinds. And p.s. you know im making way more money then you,,and i can eat all the burritos i want,,your the tiger woods of rap music!!

  11. Posted March 4, 2009 at 7:55 am | Permalink

    Dear Christopher Edward Strayhorn,

    1. You do realize you are a 30+ year old man pretending to be a woman right now on the internet right?
    2. Despite having a computer and hand held for children (no sidekick), you still have not learned how to operate the alphabet with your fingers. You only need one comma….kinda ever.
    3. No I was not a good rapper (see Fog On The Bridge).
    4. I wish my mom could have paid for everything unlike your mother who laughs at your accent and put the kaibosh on your east coast origins.

    5. satisfy you?

    again you are starting to act real Kirk Lazarus right now. You do know you are dood who is pretending to be a woman who slept with me? Sir…are you sure u want to keep acting like this in public?

    7. Remember what you told me in 2004? About…”that politics shit you on right now is wack”. You do understand my president is mixed. Fuck you, I helped do that.

    As far the rest of the paragraph, you are just making up things at this point. My special little message to you about your money is…..I bet you ain’t paid your brothers. Any of em. Can you look in their eyes and give back what you stole? That’s some very sad shit. Its sad you also you taken me to the point of pitying you.

    You not going to make me angry. Just remember when I and you share a block, you do the look at the gutter thing like a lost puppy. You are afraid to see me and for good reason. So stop. You wanted to say some sly shit and I caught you. Accept it and move on before u get moved on.

    As to the rest of you pseudonyms

    LMAO

    Wow dood, you really sat here and made up all those names? You got that much time? LMAO. Was the 26th one of those “angry days”? This is really good. Its funny here. I give you credit. Yes nga….

    I know its still you. You grasping for straws still? Okay, I’m move my pieces now.

  12. STUDENTS FOR HIPHOP
    Posted March 5, 2009 at 8:44 am | Permalink

    LMAO,,THIS DUDE IS CRAZY MAN!! WHOS CHRISTOPHER EDWARD STRAYHORN?

  13. Posted March 5, 2009 at 6:24 pm | Permalink

    Keep it up and when I knock you out, you’ll know who I am talking to.

  14. Posted March 5, 2009 at 8:33 pm | Permalink

    That’s not the real Noz. The real Noz knows the difference between “to” and “too”.

    “Who is Christopher Edward Strayhorn”… what a good question. I’ve been asking myself this same question for damn near 10 years.

  15. Posted March 5, 2009 at 8:38 pm | Permalink

    I looked it up on wikipedia Johnathan, and apparently is a scary rapper who hides on the internet and hasn’t learned to tune an instrument.

    “first of all who’s your A&R, a grown baby in leather pants strugglin with a guitar?”

  16. Posted March 5, 2009 at 11:57 pm | Permalink

    we taught you about non profits karma. i dont know about all that extra shit,we dont use guitars we use the elements of hiphop! i bet you dont even know how many elements there is karma weve got 20 year old freshmen at cal ready to serve you come on down unlike you we are still around [since 95!]supporting new kids about learning and seeing real hiphop
    oh yeah we can show you the footage of you getting ripped to peices back in the day

    [Sole]anticon
    How am I?
    I’m good
    But the real good stuff don’t make it to page
    I applied for Howard Hughes but live off less than minimum wage
    How are they?
    The same as last time I saw them
    Waiting for Nintendo games to turn to money trees
    And all that’s cool to no shows
    And we turned everything around and gave them “Kick me” signs
    Cause mine is too short to get direction from college grads
    Who can’t change car tires

  17. Posted March 6, 2009 at 12:21 am | Permalink

    Heres where you fucked up Strayhorn. We were banned from Students From Hip Hop events except for Kirby because you couldn’t keep your mouth shit and your dirty dick in your pants. So this footage….a lie. But this is Chris Sin we’re talking about, nobody actually believes you in any part of the world. But if you want to talk footage….test me…I fucking dare you. Don’t have me put you out there. I’m trying to at least let you scrape some vittles in this economy.

    Sole ain’t ever got shit to say about me negative. We handled that at La Pena so we know that’s not Sole.

    You mad at Nintendo games? How about buying shoes when homeless, not spending time with your seed and your wack ass singing voice. Be mad at that.

    By the way, you used to say white people were not human but now all you kick it with was white girls. Be mad at that.

    This Kenan character you’re portraying; we ALL see through it. Good luck with that. Have fun selling them salty sacks in the park but watch for potholes……….the drop is mothafucka

    Don’t have me Rick Ross your ass.

  18. Posted March 6, 2009 at 1:07 am | Permalink

    why are you bringing up this make beleive christopher edward strayhorn person. why are you actin like you dont remember us and the day you got served..i notice you keep avoiding that, listen stop shadowboxing with made up enemies,and stop signing posts in other peoples names all my info is here man http://calhiphop.wordpress.com i can document everything for you students for hiphop is world renowned were about peace education and culture not rick ross! you still didnt answer about the elements of hiphop question seems like you need to be schooled!
    big kenan

  19. Posted March 6, 2009 at 4:46 am | Permalink

    You are faking the funk completely.

    In my life, I never battled at students for hip hop. That was Kirby. I was even on the campus, I was over at La Pena setting up sound. You putting out alot of misinformation. Sole mentioned my name to Kirby and apologized 45 minutes later. Secondly, I helped start the club between cal and sfsu. Khalil can co-sign that.

    Finally, you never asked any real question about four elements. You are not real person. You are a joker hiding behind a pseudonym. You are not Kenan. Come off it and get real.

    If you was really talking peace and education, you would never come at anyone the way you have. It all shows when the grass is cut.

    Footage = myth
    Battle = myth

    Final thought then I’m getting on a plane. Amazing how your blog link has amazing punctuation, editing and design but on here it seems like “tickle me elmo my first blog post”. Come off the shit. We all know you create beef between people, we saw you do it for years, you think that shit would work on men who are your superior and been watching your devilish tactic? Go visit your kid and sign off the internet.

  20. Sean G
    Posted March 6, 2009 at 5:35 am | Permalink

    This is a classic track. Too bad there are some whiny bitches on here trying to hate. And they ain’t even heard the new shit by these homies. It’s a shame dickless homo rappers gotta hate on real ill brothas who are actually skilled assets to the community. Go Plaxico your self dick head

  21. Posted March 6, 2009 at 3:38 pm | Permalink

    hahaha karma your a faker man. you have no ties to us or khalil thats why you never performed for us.if you had ties wouldnt you have proof,, Stop making up fake issues. you still didnt answer the elements question hmmm seems like you need some schooling and as you can see by all my other posts and website and perfect behaviour i never had to curse or call you any made up names,, listen im deading this i have a legacy to continue and things to pursue all i have to say is everyone google karma from kemeticsuns whats the first thing to pop up?? lol

  22. Posted March 6, 2009 at 3:49 pm | Permalink

    You know what’s crazy is that I googled “students for hip hop” + kenan and nothing came up

  23. calvin
    Posted March 6, 2009 at 6:45 pm | Permalink

    damn karma you aint reppin kemetic no more? how come i cant find a rap from you anywhere on the net?or one picture of you with your beloved crew. is it because no one fucks with you? i see pics of kingkoncepts and his dope projects but not yours? why? ,dont you know berkley isnt that far from oakland you know that right? i can come wit those slumplordz to bodie you any day now. and why you got that fake ass wu tang sighn next to your name? your not a wutangmember affiliate or associate why cant you stay in your best posistion. a fan
    (karma if your grown can you change that wu sighn and put sfpd next to it.]

  24. Posted March 6, 2009 at 8:58 pm | Permalink

    Now Cipher

    If I’m SFPD how did you do a 9 month domestic violence (with priors and resisting arrest) bid in 3 months? You really want to go there? You know how you got that time off. Oh and btw, when they did come by the spot, my lawyer was harder than the smell of your breath. Another comment about police….did some one run behind some BART police yesterday? Keep it up; they won’t be there next time. You can’t hide forever and we both know I own Frisco.

    Hacking myspace? So you really sit there and stalk my myspace in Spring every four years? How gay is that? Let me break this down for you. Myspace is for kids, the ones I uplift as well as the ones I work very hard to not to physically explain to YOU their frustration.

    Let’s clarify again. We kick it with Noz. We kick it with Koncepts. You’re just making yourself look bad by making fake names up, because now you are impersonating even more people and trying to assume their identity. Again, this what you. You will never be me and I know that hurts. Jealous is one of the four devils. You should try civilizing self.

    Body is how its spelled, not Bodie, who used to work for Stringer. I’m add that to the list too, but I’m more offended by your grammar than your idle threats. You are really going to keep hiding behind pretending you are Calvin. What do you think Calvin is going to do when he finds out? Do you even want space to think in the Bay any more or you want that tight of a vice grip around you?

    Final lesson kids. If you are googling me don’t look for Karma. Might want to pick around CNN, Wall Street Journal, and CSR newsletters for what the fuck I do. We want to talk about social responsibility or the studies entire COUNTRIES do based on the methods derived from my work?

    Officer Strayhorn = fail

    This is starting to get fun.

    The more you talk, the more enemies you breed. Did I mention we have your ISP now?

  25. ?????
    Posted March 6, 2009 at 11:59 pm | Permalink

    Im sure karma is gonna say im a fake made up charachter too but im gonna keep my name blank cause unlike you guys im a proffesional. To get to the point without all the ignorance.I helped this guy get into the non profit game, let him meet my contacts, managers and showed him all the ropes.Then he turns around stabs me in the back and talks shit about my “work ethic”. All i want to convey is that karma instead of pawning this off as one person attacking you take this as well
    karma.

  26. Posted March 7, 2009 at 3:09 am | Permalink

    Who could get me into the non-profit game and can’t spell professional. The men who put me on was Davis and Johnson. I know you don’t want me to get that second name involved; you will be even more disappointed. Yes…..you are made up character.

    You are clown, Chris. Keep saying my name, we know you want to be me. Instead….you have:

    schiz⋅o⋅phre⋅ni⋅a
    1. Psychiatry. Also called dementia praecox. a severe mental disorder characterized by some, but not necessarily all, of the following features: emotional blunting, intellectual deterioration, social isolation, disorganized speech and behavior, delusions, and hallucinations.
    2. a state characterized by the coexistence of contradictory or incompatible elements.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schizophrenia

  27. Clyde Smith
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 11:32 pm | Permalink

    oh yeah, keep runnin’ your mouth, christopher. we know who you are. streets is watching. you not hard to find at all. one day we gonna catch you slipping outside a club in your boy george tight leather pants and matted braids with your arm around a one legged white beezy and we finna see you, kid. Have you up against a wall and snatch up your precious little debbie cakes, the same way deshawn snatched up that booty at rita. yeah. we know who you are. Who you think is responsible for allowing you to breathe untouched all this time?

    from internal symmetry to f*ckin white broads with internal kidney problems. WHAT PART OF THE GAME IS THAT?!?!?!

  28. calvin
    Posted March 11, 2009 at 12:02 am | Permalink

    lmfao!! fuck both yall

  29. Posted March 11, 2009 at 1:26 am | Permalink

    Wow you sound upset Chrissy. How about you put the date of that myspace post? What was that, 2003? You getting sentimental now? Missing the good old days?
    THATS DEAD

    You should have thought before you crossed that line. Now looks like other people are watching, unhappy with you and all you can do is make fake names. Must suck being you.

    See you soon “bashy washy”

  30. Brane
    Posted March 13, 2009 at 11:26 pm | Permalink

    Somebody has a lot of extra time on their hands it sure seems funny how all the Haters get on at the same time to post trash. BTW I found your boy
    (kenan bell)

    HIGHLARIOUS!
    Oh yeah funny how at the top its this guy who keeps asking the same question over & over again yet down at the bottom sac kings all of a sudden sayin stop ignoring the question. HMMMMM, coincidence right!!!! Its coug we understand your split personalities, dont trip I got em too but I just still name them all the same person…..

  31. Posted March 14, 2009 at 6:43 pm | Permalink

    I am going to do something that matters, like I did yesterday and the day after which is while real people are involved and feel the need to school you on your attitude and you respond with fake names and then accuse me of the same (the myspace quote really played you out duke).

    Something that matters huh? Sure, making your life hard. That’s what matters now.

  32. Posted March 14, 2009 at 9:55 pm | Permalink

    this is all amounted to?

  33. Posted March 15, 2009 at 4:04 am | Permalink

    thanks for the grouch link! sounds cool. i still think you guys are picking on karma! leave my co worker alone!

  34. Posted March 15, 2009 at 4:44 am | Permalink

    Chris,

    You went from being told not to talk shit about the Legends (which you ignored) to promoting them. I bet you can’t sleep without vicodin. Cocaine is a helluv a drug.

    Speaking of Koncepts, we were smoking a jay laughing about that “friends” joint you tried say was a divider. Then I made sure as his best man at his wedding, he had a great party. Friends right? Lol…clown, you’re out of your league. No Set, we see what you bring, utter confusion.

    There is no Killamets
    there is no Calvin
    no Sacramento (its spelled with an ‘a’ dipshit) Kings
    none of that

    thats just you Chris. You know it and I know.

    This delusional state of mind you have, while validating in knowing you are complete fuck up (in life, fatherhood and everything you touch) really just ends up digging you a sadder little hole to hide. Money is great, cutty. Very great. I know a certain half pimp half sorcerer you owe alot of loot to though. Distract the issue all you want. The funniest part, is considering I run my own companies, theres really no co-workers. You should find some new lies.

    NOBODY is fucking with you. You are done Set. Done. Finito. I guess you need me to start putting out your demo tracks, huh? Uh oh….yeah I got some Texas tour flicks too. You wanna keep it up? You sure? BTW, how sales? Block is kinda hot huh? Suddenly, folks aren’t so friendly anymore? Yeah, I guess thats the cost of being a snake, going against the throne and getting stepped on.

    Don’t make me make an example out of you. You know better.

  35. ilovelegends
    Posted March 15, 2009 at 8:29 pm | Permalink

    grouch wouldnt smoke blunts!

  36. Posted March 16, 2009 at 1:16 am | Permalink

    I guess your weird lab job laid you off so you have time to sit around and do this. Great.

    Darkness and Light huh Chrissy? Good luck. You are going to need it.

  37. david_its allgood
    Posted March 16, 2009 at 11:52 pm | Permalink

    hi im david! heres a blog for lil mis sunshine and other bi racial bloggers.

    Why do Biracial people think they are better ?

    not all of them but alot of them seem to be stuc up and think they are ‘special’ because they arent fully black

  38. Posted March 17, 2009 at 4:33 am | Permalink

    http://daftcrunk.com/

    AHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA

    Man….I can’t even…..type…I’m laughing so hard….

    LMAOOOOOOOOOO

  39. calvin
    Posted March 17, 2009 at 12:26 pm | Permalink

    you still at 601 prauge st brett? your mailing address is still on the net. i aint buyin no wack ass cds from th 90s when i come over either! lol

  40. Posted March 17, 2009 at 7:58 pm | Permalink

    Chris, Jabril, Kenan, Calvin, what ever you want to call yourself now. I am SO glad you brought up Nopa. Which emphatically, you know and I know you was looking at the curb and I was with a chick wondering why you didn’t look so tough. You know you cannot lie to yourself when you bring up memories like that. You are on the internet, pretending to be people, rather than having the heart to speak your mind.

    At the end of the day….

    time and place, call my name, and I’ll come running. You? You will get knocked the fuck out. Me, I’ll add you to a list.

    I’m done posting here. The host has clowned. The crew has clowned. The streets have clowned. Every one who gave you a pass on account of me…nope…now that back at you (oh yeah, Lukas gonna be real cramped for you now). The only friends you have left are the people you haven’t stolen from or the broads you haven’t molested…….yet. You want to play little kid games with me on the internet, see what happens when I play back.

    Nobody searches the net for Hypnotic the Native Son. Nobody is searching for Chris Sinister. In fact, pretty much most people know you as “the guy Kirb aint fuckin wit no more”. However, FundaMentals? Classics and cherished. Kirby Dominant, classic and loved. Kemetic Suns, in demand. You…well we see how you spend your time.

  41. Posted March 17, 2009 at 11:44 pm | Permalink

    Just a heads up to those who are posting. I may do some moderating on this blog. I don’t mind the hating and I guess I don’t mind the shameless promoting (although i don’t like it)–what I do mind when heads say to contact them at an email that does not correspond to the email they used to leave the comments. It seems fish-y and like it may even be fish-ing. I would warn anyone from using this list of comments to contact anyone.

    Please note: I re-upped the link because Karma is so dope and there’s obviously serious demand for his $#!T and I also added a new post about some serious b-boys so check it out and feel free to comment or even beef over there! This $#!T is bigger than The Bay. Recognize.

    Emcee Gabe

  42. calvin
    Posted March 17, 2009 at 11:48 pm | Permalink

    YOUR SUCH A IDIOT GABE KARMA ALREADY POSTED THAT THIS WAS A JOKE SITE MADE BY HIS FREINDS,,SROLL UP BUT IF YOU WANNA COSIGHN AND MISLEAD THE PUBLIC FINE. THAT WOULD BE KEMETIC OF YOU LOL.

  43. Posted March 17, 2009 at 11:53 pm | Permalink

    Thanks Calvin,

    On that note, not everyone posing as Karma on this list is actually Karma. Not everyone posing as Noz, is actually Noz. Perhaps you missed the memo, people pose as others on the internet. This is my blog. I don’t know Karma. I only found his record in the trash.

    Emcee Gabe

  44. Karma
    Posted June 12, 2009 at 3:46 pm | Permalink

    Just to end all speculation, I’m still your father….

  45. Posted March 20, 2013 at 1:19 pm | Permalink

    Nice blog here! Also your site loads up fast! What host are you using?
    Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish my web site loaded up as fast as
    yours lol

  46. Posted May 16, 2015 at 4:40 pm | Permalink

    Can someone link me a picture of what Christopher Edward Strayhorn aka Chris Sinnister aka Hypnotic looks like please?
    Karma? Anyone? Chris??
    I’ve never seen a picture of him.. does he even exist or was he an alias someone else made up as part of the act?
    I’ll just leave this comment out of genuine interest.
    I sincerely appreciate the legacy you guys left, it’s inspiring me a lot.
    Thank you,
    Shannon aka Fabricator (AUS)

  47. Posted May 25, 2017 at 7:18 pm | Permalink

    I used to be good friends with karmachi when I attended SFSU BACK IN THE 90s. They were such a great group. Just as great as their temporaries, souls of mischief.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

