Ummah flip fast and b!t@h slap a vic rapper.

beef-cuts-l

There’s been a lot of talk about a post on this site from about a year ago. It was about the Kemetic Suns crew and the Fundamentals who put out the record “Stop the World: Science Must Progress”. The Fundamentals were KarmaChi and King Koncepts. I reupped that post for all of your enjoyment and I’m gonna try to get more active with this blog. Being in school takes me away from my love for hip-hop more and more but the fact that you all have tuned in, even if it’s just to call each other names, has inspired me. The beef is dumb. We grew up loving hip-hop and if you are younger then us you are doing the same thing right now. Whether or not you like particular individuals or not, the fact is, hip-hop is the best f#@!ing music out there and has touched every aspect of our culture and American music since its inception. I believe you think your better than the next emcee, but don’t stop practicing or you’ll slip and don’t come with dumb beef or don’t lose respect for the people who have been listening to hip-hop for longer than you have. If you’re an older cat and you’re acting like a child on the internet, just stop. Hip hop is dope. Don’t ruin it.

As for Fundamentals, I’ll look for more of their $#!t whether it’s at Amoeba, my favorite underground digging spot (you know it if you’ve been there), or in the trash. You may think you’re better than KarmaChi, and that’s all well and good, but last I checked the record I copped that track off is fairly sought after—regardless of where I found it.

Moving right along, here are a few new (old) tracks. The first is perhaps the biggest posse cut I’ve ever found on wax that features artists from the area and era in question. The next two are artists who I aspire to and respect for their craft and their style—Z-Man and Edan are hardcore b-boys. Edan is on Lewis Recordings and Z-Man is in the group One Block Radius. Edan is from Boston. So am I.

Fanatik- Hella Emcees (Fanatik’s 12″ Murder Mix) feat. Bas-1, Mic-T, Shake, 427, Persevere, Planet Asia, Asop, Friz-B, Rashenal, Ricochet, Fli, Dave Dub, EB F, The Grouch and Grandthevil (Heratik Productions, 2000)

Z-Man- Z-Mutiny (refill records, 2003)

Edan- I’ll Come Running Back To You (Lewis Recordings, 2002)

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 16, 2009 at 5:33 pm | Permalink

    Gabe….you’re the shit for your honesty and transparency which is why we love you. However, back to the sarcasm of our inside jokes that started this whole mess, wouldn’t a 3-D pie chart be a better graphical representation?

  2. Posted June 23, 2009 at 9:08 am | Permalink

    Is this a record for time between entries on a blog? I hope so. Nice cow diagram, did you do that?

  3. loOnis
    Posted December 11, 2009 at 7:09 am | Permalink

    entertaining post… this one and the one from 08.

    is the stop the world album on mp3? i got the tape back in 98 when i was at san jose state. of course the tape wore out.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

